Center for the Study of Chronic Metabolic and Rare Diseases

Current Students

Ph.D. Students

    Katherine Doyle (PhD in Bioscience):"Inflammation as a Central Factor in the Pathogenesis of Human Chronic Diseases".Co-advised by Dr. Lynn Gerber (CHHS, GMU/INOVA)
    Kellie Perry (PhD in Bioscience):"Genetic and environmental factors contributing to the pathogenesis and the treatment response in hepatitis C".Co-advised by Dr. Mike Estep (INOVA)
    Edgar Rodriguez (PhD in Chemistry):"Inflammatory and fibrotic features of visceral adipose are associated with chronic liver disease"
    Maria Keaton (PhD in Bioscience):"Brown adipose tissue biomarkers in visceral fat".Co-advised by Dr. Aybike Birerdinc (SSB, CoS)
    Sasha Stoddard (PhD in Bioscience):To Be Determined
    Tiange Cui (PhD in Bioinformatics):To Be Determined
    Steven Bowers (PhD in Bioinformatics):"Rare Disease Information Portal"
    Sasha Stoddard (PhD in Biosciences):To Be Determined

    Master's Students

      Kuan Yao (MS in Biology):To Be Determined
      Shelly Jones (MS in Biology):"Caspase-3 Inhibitors as Anti-Apoptotic Treatment for Non-Alcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH)"
      Sasha Stoddard (MS in Biology - Molecular):"Molecular Connections between Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD), NASH, and Steatohepatitic HCC (SH-HCC)"
      Peter Masschelin (MS in Biology - Molecular):"The Effects of the Treatment of Various Lipid Species on Mitochondrial and Cellular Functions of Hepatocytes"
      Gladys Shaw (MS in Biology):"A Genotypic Analysis of Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms (SNP) of the Receptor for Advanced Glycation End Products (AGER) in Inflammatory Metabolic Disease"
      Kameron Tavakolian (MS in Biology):"Profiling Fibrotic Genes in Visceral Adipose Tissue (VAT) among Patients within the Spectrum of NAFLD"
      Kamil Kural (MS in Bioinformatics):To Be Determined
      Kyle Kurzke (MS in Biology):To Be Determined
      Kyeong Yun Jeong (MS in Biology):To Be Determined

      Undergraduate Students

        Mark Kassab (BS)
        Ahmad Haj-Assaad (BS)
        Srivalli Srivangipuram (BS)
        Darbi Catlin (BS)
        Hisham Nachabe (BS)
        Allison Evans (BS)
        Thaovy Van (BS)
        Danial Mahood (BS)